Belonging House
Bezalel: Image of God
The Mind of Christ and Discernment
0:00
-53:24

The Mind of Christ and Discernment

Christ John Otto directs Belonging House, an international community of artists and creative people.  This teaching is from our Sunday congregation, Beth Charashim, the House of Artisans.   This week's readings are I Corinthians 2:6-16 and Matthew 5:17-37.

You can find out more at https://belonging.house

Get our Friday email, https://christjohnotto.substack.com

If you enjoy these teachings, share them with your friends or buy a coffee to show your support. https://www.buymeacoffee.com/christjohnotto

Please consider supporting our work by becoming a patron: https://patreon.com/belonginghousemedia

#bible 

#jesus 

#artists 

#Belonginghouse

#kingdomofgod 

#sermononthemount

#discernment

#prophetic

We cannot understand the Kingdom using worldly systems

worldly logic,

and worldly paradigms.

Grids.

It is interesting when you read a lot of commentaries,

that most of the people writing them are either not believers

or believe that the work of the Holy Spirit ceased.

And most of it is not helpful.

This is what Paul describes as the "unspiritual man"

who does not receive the gifts of the Spirit

they are folly.

And then Paul says the spiritual man

judges all things because it is in the spirit that things are discerned.

So what Jesus is telling us

lines up with Paul.

Jesus is showing us that the moral code

that is required of us in heaven

is beyond human ability.

Jesus is building up to the crescendo of his sermon:

Come unto me all you who labor and are heavy laden

and I will give you rest.

Come to me.

Come to me and I will give you my mind.

Come to me and I will help you give you my emotional stability.

I will help you with your impossible marriage.

I will help you with you rotten brother.

I will help you with contracts and agreements

so that your yes will be yes and your no will be no.

I will help you with your wandering eye.

I will be in you.

And this is only in the Spirit.

And in order to do this,

you need the gifts and the fruit of the Holy Spirit.

0 Comments
Belonging House
Bezalel: Image of God
Eight chapters of the Bible are devoted to the work and mission of Bezalel. Even though he has more space in the Bible than Noah, Samson, Ruth, and Elijah, most people have never heard of him. This is because Bezalel is was an artist, and the first person in the Bible to be filled with the Spirit of God. His story is important for every artist and creative person. Christ John Otto reads his book, Bezalel: Image of God. You can buy the book here: https://www.amazon.com/author/christjohnotto
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Christ John Otto